Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Main content start
William Saroyan
William Saroyan International Prize for Writing

"In the time of your life, liveso that in that wondrous time you shall not add to the misery and sorrow of the world, but shall smile to the infinite delight and mystery of it." –William Saroyan

Congratulations to the authors shortlisted for the 2024 Saroyan Prize! The winners and finalists will be announced in late summer.

We will begin accepting submissions for the 2026 Prize (for books published in 2024 and 2025) in the fall of 2024.

How to enter

The Stanford Libraries and the William Saroyan Foundation jointly award the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing, a biennial competition for newly-published books. The prize commemorates the life, legacy and intentions of William Saroyan - author, artist, dramatist, composer - and is intended to encourage new or emerging writers, rather than to recognize established literary figures.

Claire Oshetsky/Wayetu Moore [Ashleigh Staton]

Congratulations to Claire Oshetsky and Wayétu Moore, winners of the 2022 Saroyan Prize!

Learn more